The Forum That Came Back From The Dead
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A rockin' fan forum that rose from the grave

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Budget Amp

Go down 
+2
Vinny
rockinMD
6 posters
AuthorMessage
rockinMD

rockinMD

Budget Amp Empty
PostSubject: Budget Amp   Budget Amp EmptySat Feb 16, 2008 9:21 pm

hey guys, just wanted to know...is the fender frontman 212 worth it? I dont have a vast knowledge on amps, ive owned a peavey and a johnson amplification amp all because they had tones of effects and gadgets. Now all I have is a line 6 computer program hooked up to a yamaha bass amp. ridiculous and it truley sucks!!! I tried out the frontman and it was great but again, i have no experience on amps. since its only about $300 and i was thinking of adding a boss re-20 space echo pedal for that classic rockabilly sound any help will be great!
Back to top Go down
Vinny

Vinny

Budget Amp Empty
PostSubject: Re: Budget Amp   Budget Amp EmptySat Feb 16, 2008 9:26 pm

Fender is a fine amp, but i have also found that many amps like Vox and Line 6 that have all of the effects that you tone port has are better deals. There is a 75 watt Line 6 spider for $290 and a good sized Vox runs about the same. I have had a frontman, and its got a great clean channel, but the overdrive has a lot to be desired.
Back to top Go down
Mike

Mike

Budget Amp Empty
PostSubject: Budget Amps   Budget Amp EmptySun Feb 17, 2008 4:57 pm

In my opinion, the effects that are built into the amps kill your tone. In my experience, I find that amps with no effects built in are better and just get the pedal(s) that gives the effect you want. For a solid state amp, the 212 is nice and reliable foe the price
Back to top Go down
rockinMD

rockinMD

Budget Amp Empty
PostSubject: Re: Budget Amp   Budget Amp EmptyTue Feb 19, 2008 2:25 am